logo Rome Accommodation

maximum occupancy reached

children (< 3 years)


The picturesque quarter of Testaccio began as a peasant area at the end of the 1800s, before becoming one of the most alternative and fashionable areas in modern Rome. In the area new trends live alongside ancient Roman traditions. It is the ideal area to get to know the real Rome, far enough from the crowds of tourists, but only a short walk from the historical center.


Useful information

The history of Testaccio begins in Ancient Rome. Along the banks of the Tiber river which lie near the area, ships and boats off loaded their cargo of amphorae filled with oil. These shards were abandoned and over the years formed a hill which became known as the "morte dei cocci", the heart of the Testaccio quarter. It's possible to visit the remains today, for information see the official website of the Comune di Roma. The current lay-out of the district was formed at the end of 1800s when Rome became the capital of Italy. It was designed as an industrial quarter and was full of the homes of the laborers who worked there. The most significant example of this type of architecture is the ex-slaughter house. Begun in 1888, development continuing until 1975, today it is one of the main cultural centers of Rome. It holds the Museo Macro where interesting modern and contemporary art exhibitions are held. To see the current calendar of events, visit the official website for the museum Museo Arte Contemporanea Macro Testaccio. As well as the Macro, the area is home to other places of interest such as the protestant cemetery and the Cestia Piramide. Testaccio, however is most famous for its "trattorie" small restaurants where the secrets of Roman cuisine are jealously protected, and where you can enjoy typical traditional meals.


Our holiday apartments near Testaccio

Points of interest in the vicinity

Apartments in this area